May 01 2012

UM J-School Awards Record Amount In Scholarships



The University of Montana School of Journalism gave students a total of $139,000 in scholarships and awards at the 2012 Dean Stone Awards Banquet on April 20.

The total was a record amount, Dean Peggy Kuhr said.

“Thanks to the continuing generosity of alumni and supporters of the J-school, we’ve been able to help students more than ever,” she said.

Kuhr announced two new funds for students. The Blumberg Fund, named for former dean and Professor Nathaniel Blumberg, will encourage students to pursue investigative reporting. Alum Rich Kaudy ’76 established the endowed fund to honor Blumberg as an outstanding, demanding and compelling professor. Blumberg, who died mid-February, was dean of the journalism school from 1956 to 1968 and a full-time professor until 1978.

The Thayer Fund was established by Dorothy “Marge” Thayer, a philanthropist, poet and career woman who died in Helena in 2011. She created the fund to honor her parents, Louis M. Thayer and Dorothy MacLane Thayer, and her father’s newspaper career in Butte and Helena. Proceeds from the fund will assist graduate students in the school’s master’s program in environmental science and natural resource journalism.

A total of 73 journalism and radio-TV majors and graduate students were honored at the Dean Stone Banquet.

“So many of our students do outstanding work for us and show great promise,” Kuhr said. “We’re proud to be able to help them in this way.”