May 15 2017

UM Foundation Names New President and CEO

Cindy Williams has been named president and chief executive officer of the University of Montana Foundation, board chair Mary Olson announced Monday. Williams has been a leader on the foundation’s development team for over a decade and has been serving as interim president and CEO since February.

“After launching our search, we came to the conclusion that the best candidate was already here,” said Olson. “Cindy brings a combination of vision for the future and contextual understanding of where we’ve been.”

Williams joined the UM Foundation in 2006, first serving as the director of development and alumni relations for the UM School of Business Administration, then later as vice president for development. In that role, she has led a team of development officers who secure private gifts on behalf of various colleges, schools and other units on campus.

“I am delighted and honored to lead the dynamic, committed team here at the UM Foundation,” said Williams. “Our mission – securing private support for the University of Montana to ensure access and opportunity – has never been more important.”

Williams will begin her tenure as president and CEO on June 1.

“I look forward to working even more closely with our dedicated and generous UM community.”

Williams originally hails from Spokane, Washington. She holds a bachelor degree in business administration with an emphasis in management from Walla Walla University. She is a member of the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) and the Association of Governing Boards (AGB). She started her advancement career at Walla Walla University and the Loma Linda University Children's Hospital Foundation in Southern California.

The University of Montana Foundation is a nonprofit entity governed by a 40-member board of trustees. Its mission is to ensure the University’s excellence, access and affordability through a public/private partnership. As president and CEO, Williams will lead the daily activities of the foundation, serve on the University president’s cabinet and serve as the chief development officer of the University.