Campaign Montana Lead Donors Honored

Dennis and Gretchen Eck have supported significant upgrades to the Liberal Arts building.

Recently, UM celebrated Charter Day by honoring those who have helped build UM with their significant talent, dedication and support.

The UM Foundation was honored to present Gretchen and Dennis Eck with the Neil S. Bucklew Presidential Service Award. Their generous contributions of over $8.5 million have truly modernized the Liberal Arts Building, transforming it into a dynamic environment where students are inspired to learn, study and collaborate.

The Ecks have also supported a Native American Scholarship that has impacted more than 50 UM students since its creation. Their generosity will continue to assist students in their pursuit of higher education for many years to come.

The President Royce Engstrom Endowed Prize in University Citizenship was awarded for the first time this year. The prize, supported by generous donors, recognizes a recent graduate of UM who, as a student, contributed in a significant way to the betterment of the University and who has remained an exemplary ambassador of the University through distinguished professional and civic service.

The inaugural awardee is Zach Brown, a 2013 UM alum who serves in the Montana Legislature. Zach first ran for a seat in the Montana House of Representatives in 2014 at age 23 and is currently serving his third term. At UM, Zach was a Presidential Leadership Scholar, was awarded two Udall Scholarships and a Truman Scholarship and was the ASUM president. After graduation he served as a Madeline Albright Fellow in Washington, D.C. He also currently works for One Montana, an organization creating a vibrant Montana by connecting rural and urban communities.